Rutten, Netherlands, Europe
Year1952latitude: 52° 48'
longitude: 5° 42'
Initiator(s)Dutch government
Planning organizationDirectorate of the Wieringermeer
Nationality initiator(s)Dutch
Designer(s) / Architect(s)Wieger Bruin
Design organization
Inhabitants1,675 (2020)
Target population2,000
Town website
Town related links
Literature- Duin, R.H.A. van and G. de Kaste; The pocket guide to the Zuyder Zee project; 1990
- Wal, Coen van der; In Praise of Common Sense. Planning the Ordinary. A Physical Planning History of the New Towns in the IJsselmeerpolders; 1997

type of New Town: > scale of autonomy
New Town
Company Town
> client
Private Corporation
Public Corporation
> policy

Dorpsplan 15-02-1950 (Directorate of the Wieringermeer)

Uitbreidingsplan in onderdelen, 23-05-1962. Directorate of the Wieringermeer

Masterplan by Grandpré Molière, Verhagen en Kok, 1944
source: Nieuw Land

Rutten is located in the Noordoostpolder, a polder that was reclaimed between 1937 and 1942 and previously belonged to the Zuiderzee. With over 30 kilometers of dike, an agricultural area of 460 km2 was added to the Dutch soil. The reclamation was a consequence of the Zuiderzee Act of 1918. Food supply had been elevated to a political priority after World War I and the economic crisis of the 1930s.
After the end of World War II, land was issued in 1947 to strictly selected farmers, mainly from the north of the country.

The design of the polder is based on the Central PLace Theory (1933) of German geographer Walter Christaller (1893-1969). He was the first to look at cities as a system in which smaller and larger cities form a network in relation to each other. He distinguished between A, B and C cities: small settlements, larger cities and regional centers.
Centrally located in the Noordoostpolder is the ‘capital’ Emmeloord, a city of the B-category. Around it, in a circle, are 10 villages of the A-category: Marknesse, Ens, Tollebeek, Luttelgeest, Nagele, Rutten, Creil, Kraggenburg, Espel and Bant. The later built Lelystad was a city of the C-category. The two islands of Schokland and Urk became part of the polder through reclamation.

Rutten is a village close the Northern edge of the Noordoostpolder. It is located next to the canal Ruttense vaart and connected through the N712. The construction of the village dates back to 1952 and it consequently welcomed its first residents a year later.

After the initial plan of erecting the village on the junction between the Polenweg and the Wrakkenweg, the idea to build the village of Bant meant Rutten was moved Northwards. The spatial lay-out of the village was designed by Wieger de Bruin (1893-1971) in 1949, whose design was based on the expectation of a thousand inhabitants. Much like to surrounding villages, the architect’s ideas were strongly influenced by the ideas of Granpre Moliere, which becomes evident through the extensive use of brick and roof-tiles in the initial village.

Rutten is devided into four parts by an intersection of its two connection roads - the Meerweg (which consequently turns into the Plantsoenweg) and the N712. This intersection functions simultaneously as the village centre (De Plaats) around which there are several public amenities. For example, there is a church, a variety of shops and a cafetaria. Other public amenities such as schools were realised at the periphery of the village.

After its initial expansion to the South, Rutten began to develop northwards throughout the following decades. In this latter, Northern expansion, the houses were built within a green environment with both private gardens and public greenery.

source: INTI

2008 - 2024 disclaimer